Bedtime Stories

Today (March 4) is PAJAMA DAY.  Since we are all comfy, cozy in our pajamas all day today, we’ve been reading Dr. Seuss’ Sleep Book (with lots of yawns). I also thought it would be the perfect time to talk about Bedtime Stories.

davBedtime stories were certainly an important part of my childhood.  It was always a special time in the day and even when I claimed to be “too old” for bedtime stories, I’d still sit and listen to my mother read to my younger brothers and I would read myself before going to bed.

In my adult years, I suddenly seemed to be “too busy” for bedtime stories.  After a long day of studying or working then doing housework and chores, like so many others, I’d find myself zoning out in front of the television.  Then I’d head to bed and promptly turn on my phone for one last email/social media check. Definitely NOT the pleasant routine of bedtime stories (we may think we’re “zoning out” on screens but the blue light and content puts our brains into a heightened waking state, as opposed to the relaxing effects of reading from a page or listening to someone read to you).  That’s why it’s my goal to turn off the screens and get back into some Bedtime Stories.

There are multiple benefits to bedtime stories … 

  • Reading together provides bonding time and builds relationships.  It gives you the opportunity to talk together about the book, make connections in own lives, and even open the door to talk about other matters.
  • Reading aloud (especially to young children) is important for verbal and literacy skill development.
  • Bedtime stories can improve attention span and ability to focus.
  • Fiction stories provides spaces to experience different experiences and perspectives, to safely explore difficult emotions and situations, etc.
  • Bedtime stories are a time readers and explore and discover their own unique interests through “reading for leisure” as opposed to “reading for purpose” (e.g. assigned school reading).
  • Reading at bedtime allows you to unwind and also reset your circadian rhythm (which is very much impacted by the blue light of screens) and proven to help have a better night’s sleep (which we all know is super important!)

So why not put on your coziest pjs (if you’re not already wearing them today!), turn off the screens, and read a Bedtime Story (or two or three) tonight!

Sweet Dreams!

Leave a comment